Graduation Dress Culmination!

5th Grade Graduation is a big deal.  All the girls were dressed to the nines.  Fancy dresses and little high heels.  Layered ruffles and sparkly tulle were big this year.

The dress I made for Thing 2 was a sharp contrast.  Simple,understated and it looked just right on her.  Not that anyone noticed!  Her look was completely trumped by the hair cut she had begged for in the weeks up to graduation.  A sophisticated cut for a girl of 11 years.  It looked darling.  It changed her.  Someone please tell me what happened to my baby?  The happy little infant who loved getting her hair washed.  The fun little tot who rocked her car seat back and forth to the music in the car.   The sweet little snuggly thing that I could carry in my arms.  How can this precious baby of mine walk the halls of middle school on her path to becoming an adult. Why can’t I stop time and keep her how she is?

Graduation was a great day for Thing 2.  She looked absolutely beautiful!  A vision in white, grace and poise.  She was proud of her accomplishments – perfect attendance and straight A’s.   It’s a wonderful way to start summer.  A welcome retreat before she begins middle school and all the challenges and changes that will bring.  And as happy and proud as I am for her, I am also a little sad.  I’m holding on to her last moments of childhood.  I’m not letting go.

Photobucket

About cyberpunkjunk

Rock n Roll Girl who came of age in the early 90's. Love to craft, cook and curb collect! I find nothing more satisfying than turning a beautiful vintage find and re-purposing it to something stylish and useful!

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

