Diaper Cake

My best friend forever (Really?  Forever?  thank you Bridesmaids) called upon my craftiness this week.  Yes, Wilma Fingerdoo was invited to a baby shower and to her full credit, she saw, somewhere in the interverse, a Diaper Cake –  which apparently is all the rage for baby showers.  Full credit because Wilma is not exactly know for her maternal instincts.

Now, when I was having babies, they didn’t exist yet.  (diaper cakes, not babies)  What a GREAT idea!  You can never have enough diapers when you have a baby – and diapers are expensive!  Wilma asked for my help (she knew I’d have all the supplies) and it sure looked like fun.

It’s ironic that the day that I’m helping make a diaper cake, I bought a high school graduation card for the son of my other BFF, Kat.  I threw Kat’s baby shower right before Jaggar was born.  It was the first baby shower I had ever thrown.  And now he’s G R A D U A T I N G!  How the hell did that happen?

I didn’t bother to put the instructions here making on diaper cakes, just the results.  A quick search on your favorite search engine is going to give you all the options and details that you need.  I will tell you we went with the “swirl” method (oddly appropriate for a diaper cake if you think about it).  Wilma may not have deep maternal instincts but she instantly figured out that the other methods involving rolling up diapers and securing them with rubber bands would be a pain in the butt for the new mom.

Photobucket

About cyberpunkjunk

Rock n Roll Girl who came of age in the early 90's. Love to craft, cook and curb collect! I find nothing more satisfying than turning a beautiful vintage find and re-purposing it to something stylish and useful!

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Cooking, Crafting, Great Gift Ideas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

